Representative Susan Wild

Representing the 7th District of Pennsylvania

Rep. Wild and Freshmen Democrats Call on Sen. McConnell to Bring H.R. 1 to a Vote in the Senate


June 5, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Representative Susan Wild (PA-07) joined her Freshmen Democratic colleagues in a letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell urging him to bring, H.R. 1/S.949, the For the People Act, to the Senate floor for debate and for a vote. The letter was signed by almost every Democratic member of the U.S. House of Representative’s freshman class. The For the People Act is transformative legislation that strengthens American democracy and empowers citizens by making it easier to vote, reducing the influence of big money  bill was passed by the House and sent to the Senate in March.


“Restoring faith in our elections and in the integrity of our elected officials should be a top priority that members of Congress from both parties can agree on,” wrote the lawmakers. “Americans are looking for leaders who will stand up to corruption and fight the power of special interests in Washington. They deserve a stronger democracy that is focused on their priorities and the For the People Act would give them that.”


H.R. 1 passed the House with Wild’s bill to make voting more accessible to all voters by enacting and expanding early voting nationwide. Wild’s bill would alter the Help America Vote Act of 2002 by requiring all states to offer at least 15 consecutive days of early voting for federal elections.


“Government should be in the hands of the American people. Plain and simple. On the campaign trail, we promised to make government reform our first order of business, and when we passed H.R. 1 we delivered on that promise,” Wild said. “The right to fully participate in our democracy is the core of our nation, and the For The People Act would ensure that every American has the power to choose their government and hold it accountable.”


You can read the full text of the letter here.


Cosigners include Representatives Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), Max Rose (NY-11), Katie Porter (CA-45), Jason Crow (CO-06), Sharice Davids (KS-03), Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Dean Phillips (MN-03), Chris Pappas (NH-01), Andy Kim (NJ-03), Tom Malinowski (NJ-07), Antonio Delgado (NY-19), Colin Allred (TX-32), Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02), Greg Stanton (AZ-09), Josh Harder (CA-10), TJ Cox (CA-21), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Katie Hill (CA-25), Gil Cisneros (CA-39), Harley Rouda (CA-48), Mike Levin (CA-49), Joe Neguse (CO-02), Jahana Hayes (CT-05), Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), Donna Shalala (FL-27), Lucy McBath (GA-06), Ed Case (HI-01), Abby Finkenauer (IA-01), Cindy Axne (IA-03), Jesus Chuy García (IL-04), Sean Casten (IL-06), Lauren Underwood (IL-14), Lori Trahan (MA-03), David Trone (MD-06), Andy Levin (MI-09), Haley M. Stevens (MI-11), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Angie Craig (MN-02), Ilhan Omar (MN-05), Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02), Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11), Deb Haaland (NM-01), Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02), Susie Lee (NV-03), Steven Horsford (NV-04), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14), Anthony Brindisi (NY-22), Joseph Morelle (NY-25), Kendra Horn (OK-05), Madeleine Dean (PA-04), Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05), Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06), Conor Lamb (PA-17), Joe Cunningham (SC-01), Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (TX-07), Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Sylvia Garcia (TX-29), Ben McAdams (UT-04), Jennifer Wexton (VA-10), and Kim Schrier (WA-08)